How can we help?

Lightspeed’s Help Centre is here to provide support, tips and troubleshooting

Upgrade, downgrade, pause or cancel your Lightspeed subscription

This guide will walk you through how to upgrade or downgrade your subscription if you find another plan suitable for your needs. 

We’ll also cover how to pause or cancel your account should your business need to close temporarily or permanently.

If you don't know which plan is best for you, then have a look at our subscriptions page or, simply schedule a time to talk with an expert.

Lightspeed_Plan_options.png

 


What's in this guide? 

Upgrade, downgrade or pause Lightspeed subscription | 2 minutes

Cancel Lightspeed subscription | 2 minutes

What’s next?

Frequently Asked Questions


Before you begin

You’ll need:

  • To be logged in as a site or company owner. Changing subscriptions is something managed by Site or Company owners with Admin access only. This ensures that only authorized persons can make important changes to the account.

Upgrade, downgrade or pause Lightspeed subscription

Upgrade: As your business grows, Lightspeed has a range of flexible plans that scale with you. Upgrade to access more features across POS and add-ons such as Insights. 

Downgrade: Downgrading is different to cancelling. Cancelling means you no longer need our service, while downgrading means that you still want to stay with us but just change to a plan that best suits your needs.

Pause: The Pause plan option allows you to temporarily pause your current subscription for a very small monthly fee ($5 p/m). This plan is best for businesses that are closing temporarily. Changing your subscription to the Pause plan will keep your data and configurations intact, however, will restrict your ability to make sales.

Whether you are upgrading, downgrading, or pausing, you will find all these options on the Subscriptions page. 

  1. Head to the Subscriptions page.
  2. (Multi-site users only) select the site you wish to manage from the list.mceclip1.png
  3. Select Change plan for the Lightspeed product subscription you wish to change.

    mceclip6.png
  4. Select a plan and hit Continue to confirm.

List_of_plans.PNG 


Cancel Lightspeed subscription

We're sorry to see you go! Cancelling your Lightspeed subscription means that you no longer plan to trade using Lightspeed POS. Once you cancel your subscription, you will be restricted from using Lightspeed products. 

Cancelling will erase all your configuration settings.

If you're only planning to close temporarily, you may want to try the Pause Plan instead. This plan allows you to temporarily pause your current subscription for a very small monthly fee. If you would like to pause your account instead, please review the steps discussed above.

So if you're sure that you would like to cancel your Lightspeed account, here's how:

  1. Head to the Subscriptions pagemceclip0.png
  2. (For multi-site users only) select the site you wish to cancel.mceclip1.png
  3. Scroll down to Site management, then select Yes, cancel my site subscription.

mceclip7.png

As subscriptions are site-specific, multi-site users who have more than one site you wish to cancel, repeat these steps for each site.

If you are downgrading your POS and you are also subscribed to add-ons, such as Purchase or Produce, you will need to repeat the steps above to downgrade your plan for each product. 

Troubleshoot -  If you see an error that you have too many registers to downgrade, then you should read the section on how to delete a register

 

What’s next?

Looking to grow your company with more sites? Or expanding with a new concept under a different company? Then our guide to Companies, Sites & Registers will help you manage your growing team

If you need to add or manage credit card details or bank details for the billing of your Lightspeed subscription, then our guide on billing management will help you. 


Frequently Asked Questions

How does the pay cycle work? What happens if I change my plan mid-month?

If you upgrade mid-cycle, you will be charged a pro-rata amount. Then, you will pay for the upcoming month in full at your next billing date. Like your gym or streaming subscription, you pay for the month in advance, so you won't receive a refund if you downgrade mid-pay cycle. 

 

What plan should I be on?

If you're not sure, have a look at the subscriptions page. Still not sure, but we’re here to help - schedule a time to talk with an expert.

 

Why can't I see the invoices to Lightspeed in Back Office?

Only the Site Owner can see invoices and subscriptions. If you are logged in as the Site Owner, you can find the invoices on the Invoices page. 

 

Can Lightspeed delete all my account data?

In line with GDPR, if you require us to delete your account data you will need to contact our team at support@kounta.com to process the request.


 

 

Browse more topics

Was this article helpful?
3 out of 19 found this helpful