How can we help?

Lightspeed’s Help Centre is here to provide support, tips and troubleshooting

Managing User Permissions on POS

As your staff members grow with your business, you can assign permissions tailor-fit to their responsibilities. Allowing some to only take orders, and view some reports is ideal for accountants or business stakeholders who aren't actively selling.

You get full control over what changes your staff can make and which parts of Lightspeed they have access to and delegate tasks with seamless ease.

This guide covers how to manage permissions after you have added your staff as users.

banner.PNG

 


What's in this guide? 

Manage user settings | 1 minute

Basic POS permissions

Advanced POS permissions

Back Office permissions

Purchase permissions

Produce permissions 

Insights permissions

What's next?

Frequently asked questions


Before you begin

You'll need:

  • Log in to your Back Office to manage the permissions of your staff that you've already added.

 


Manage user settings

  1. From your Back Office, open the People page.

Screen_Shot_2022-10-28_at_12.06.17_PM.png

  1. Click the cog icon beside the user you want to edit to open the User Settings page.

1_dean_leason.PNG

  1. Configure the user’s permissions based on the features you’d like them to be able to access. 

Permissions are grouped into multiple categories: Basic, Advanced, Back Office, Purchase, Produce, and Insights. 

 

Basic POS Permissions 

basic_permissions.PNG

By default, these basic permissions are automatically enabled for each user you invite:

POS Permission - Allows a user to access the POS. If disabled, the user won't appear on the POS (e.g. for accountants or other stakeholders who aren't actively selling).

Finish Sale - Allows a user to take payment for sales. If disabled, the user will still be able to create orders, but they won’t be able to complete them.

Apply Adjustments - Allows a user to apply price adjustments to a product or sales total in POS. Note: To apply price adjustments that require discount permission, a user must also have the “Apply Discounts” permission enabled.

Edit Held Order - Allows a user to open, add items to, and check out held orders. Note: To delete held orders, users also need the “Delete Held Orders” permission 

Wastage - Allows a user to record wastage of stock ingredients or products from the POS.

 

Advanced POS Permissions

advanced_pos_permissions.PNG

Apply Discounts - Allows a user to apply price adjustments or discounts that require discount permissions.

Delete Held Orders - Allows a user to delete held orders and printed items off any held order. If disabled, the user will still be able to delete an order not yet sent to production.

Money In/Out - Allows a user access to the Money In/Out on POS for tracking your float or petty cash.

POS Printing - Allows a user to see the printing tab on the POS three-bar menu that .allows users to troubleshoot and access printer options.

Void / Return Sales - Allows a user to void or refund orders.

Change Price - Allows a user to override the price of an item on the POS

Finalised Takings - Allows a user to finalise takings. Note: A user’s ability to view current takings is based on the “View Current Takings” permission.

Open Cash Drawer - Allows a user to open the cash drawer without processing a sale (e.g. for a manager to fix incorrect change).

View Current Takings - Allows a user to see the current total recorded takings. Disabling this will hide that amount when a user finalises their takings to ensure they count the actual takings present.

Edit Product Availability - Allows a user to set product availability limits and disable products.

Reprint Dockets - Allows the user to reprint open, closed, and account sale orders up to 12 hours after they have been placed.

 

Back Office Permissions

Screen_Shot_2022-10-04_at_4.22.52_pm.png

Sites - Allows a user to access Sites and edit the Site Information, Registers, Features, Integrations and Printers tabs under the Site settings for their assigned sites.

Customers - Allows a user to add, edit, and delete contacts, customers, and suppliers. If disabled, the user will still be able to select and add new customers via the POS.

Site Products - Allows a user to access Site Products and select which products appear for their site on the POS.

Reports - Allows a user to access Reports for their assigned sites.

Company - Allows a user to access Company Settings and change company details, taxes, and payment types.

Manage Products - Allows a user to access the Products page and make product changes that affect all sites. Note: Use caution when assigning this permission as it enables users to make major changes to all your sites. 

Site Pricing - Allows a user to update price lists for their site with the Price Lists add-on.

Users - Allows a user to manage your staff from the Back Office. Users with this permission can grant other staff members the same level of permission.

Stocktaking - Allows a user to access Stock Count, perform stocktakes, and adjust stock levels.

Lightspeed Payments Surcharge - Allows a user to adjust and control surcharging for Lightspeed Payments.

 

Purchase Permissions

Purchase_Permissions.png

Access Purchase - Allows a user to access your company’s Purchase account via the app switcher.

Manage Cost Price - Allows a user to edit cost prices in Purchase when sending or receiving a purchase order. It also allows you to edit the Subject, To, From, Cc, and Bcc fields of Purchase Order emails. 

 

Produce Permissions

Produce_Permissions.png

Manage Recipes - Allows a user to create, edit, and delete recipes, create new products and ingredients, and edit their units of measure. Full control over the Prep tab in Produce is also included, even if not separately selected as a permission. 

Manage Prep - Allows a user to view recipes and their cost of goods sold, to plan, start, finish and edit batches with batch notes, and to create custom batches. Users will be able to view the reports available in the Batch history section.

 

Insights Permissions 

Insights_permissions.PNG

View Insights - Allows a user to access your company’s Insights account via the app switcher. The user will only be able to view reports/dashboards.

Share Insights - Allows a user to view and share reports/dashboards from your company’s Insights account. 

Build Insights - Allows a user to create custom reports and to view and share reports from your company’s Insights account. 

 


What's next?

No more spreadsheets - start tracking your labour with the Time and Attendance Add-on. This will enable your staff to clock in and out on the POS with their PIN.

 


Frequently asked questions

Who can change user permissions?

Site owners can change everyone’s user permissions.

Admin staff can change all users’ permissions except for those of the site owner. However, they can change the site owner’s PIN.

Non-admin users with the “Users” Back Office permission can grant another staff member the same level of access.

 

Why can't I see the list of permissions that I can grant to my staff?

You may need to toggle the Is this user an admin? to No, to view the list settings.

Browse more topics

Was this article helpful?
20 out of 50 found this helpful